Skip to content

Goofy Newf Decorates: Shabby Chic FTW

November 15, 2012

Until yesterday, the odd little den in my house was used to store dog food and the vacuum cleaner.

image
image

But with some shuffling around of the considerably beat-up furniture, a rousing trip to Value Village, and a deep exploration of the basement, the den/storage has been transformed into my art/craft/sewing room! I’m calling it the Gal Cave.

image
The chairs are vintage whenever, courtesy of my mom and Jeff’s. The wicker rocking chair was a gift for my parents when I was but a wee bun in the proverbial oven.

image

The china cabinet has been re-purposed to serve as a bookshelf/nookshelf, and now holds various odds and ends including my grandmother’s knitted doll and her very first embroidery project, circa 1918 .

image

image

We dragged the desk up from the basement (an exercise in martial team building) and I adorned it with a few other knick knacks, a framed postcard from the Motherland, grandma’s powder puff (which alarmingly still contains powder and a puff), and a vintage shot of yours truly. A reminder to aim for unapologetic creativity, even if it means getting a little paint on the walls.

image

I added a couple of framed prints of Hans Christian Andersen tales that I found at Value Village (The Tinderbox and The Naughty Boy), an ink sketch of Old Montreal (also from VV Boutique), and more art from the Motherland.

image

image

image

The fireplace is a good spot for family photos. And marshmallow roasts, if you’re into that kind of thing. .

image

And there you have it. A shabby (and maybe chic) hidey hole in which to flex my creative muscles, or, alternatively, drink wine and play on the interwebs.

image

image

Maybe now I’ll finish those art projects. Either that or I’ll end up slightly drunk, trolling tmz.com.

No comments yet

Woof!

